St. Xavier's College (Autonomous), 30 Mother Teresa Sarani Kolkata 700016 West Bengal, India

Students Section Staff Section

Department of Political Science (B.A.)

Dr. Farhat Bano M.A., Ph.D.
Head of the Department

The department of Political Science is a part of the glorious heritage of St. Xavier’s College and remains committed to the Xaverian vision of academic excellence and the maintenance of an environment where �the mind is led forward into ever-widening thought and action�. The full time faculty members have been awarded their Doctoral Degrees and remain actively engaged in research and publications. They are regular invitees to and participants at seminars and conferences, both national and international. While nurturing young minds, the department seeks to elevate standards of learning and at the same time care is taken to mentor and guide those who are not as confident.

CBCS Syllabus

In keeping with the UGC guidelines and requirements the Dept has introduced a new syllabus under the �Choice Based Credit System� or CBCS from July 2018. This offers students a greater measure of choice and scope to concentrate on and pursue areas that interest them. The course provides a comprehensive programme of instruction in the fundamental areas of the discipline: political thought and ideas, political institutions and processes, development and transformation of theory and concepts, understanding different approaches to political analysis, political sociology, public administration and the legal contexts necessary for understanding contemporary politics. The dissertation paper at the end of the course encourages eager learners to explore and investigate areas that interest them in order to expand their creativity both in the realm of further academic research as well as in other professional engagements.

Departmental Activities

The events organized by the Department during the last academic year include:


SUFFRAGIUM 23rd March 2019


  • Annual departmental journal Politique released
  • Speakers:
    Prof. Rakhahari Chatterjee, Advisor Observer Research Foundation and Former Professor in Political Science at the University of Calcutta delivered a talk on �The Changing Global Order and India�;
    Mr. Ashok Vishwanathan, Dean SRFTI spoke on �Identity politics in India�.
  • Other events included �Poli-Tickle�, �Poli-Verse� and �Poli-Rattle�



  • Lecture delivered by Prof Geraldine Forbes Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita, Dept of History, State University of New York Oswego on the topic “Camels, Cars and Curiosities: Photographs as Documents for Women�s History”.



Speakers included Mr. Sarvajit Chakravarti, Former Diplomat, Indian Foreign Service; Professor Anindya Jyoti Majumdar of the Department of International Relations at Jadavpur University; Professor Anita Sengupta, the Director of Calcutta Research Group and Honorary Director of �Asia in Global Affairs�; Mr. Alexander Prokhorov, a Russian entrepreneur; Professor Anuradha Chanda, former professor of History, Jadavpur University; Professor Shobhanlal Dutta Gupta, Former Surendra Nath Banerjee Professor of Political Science, University of Calcutta; Professor Hari Vasudevan of the Department of History, Calcutta University; Professor Shantanu Chakravarti, Convenor of the Academic Committee of the Institute of Foreign Policy Studies at the University of Calcutta; Dr. Thomas Lukaszuk, former diplomat; and Dr.JakubZajaczkowski from the University of Warsaw.


CONQUEST – 6th September 2018


In collaboration with the Centre for Law and Policy Research, the Eastern Regional Round of the third Edition of India�s Premiere National Level Quiz Competition was held.


SANSAD 10th and 11th August 2018:

Model Parliament on the ‘Uniform Civil Code’