enquiry@sxccal.edu St. Xavier's College (Autonomous), 30 Mother Teresa Sarani Kolkata 700016 West Bengal, India

Students Section Staff Section

Xaverian Film Academy

Rajarshi Lahiri (Secretary)

Larger Than Life

The Xaverian Film Academy was set up in the year 2009 under the guidance of Fr. Gaston Roberge and Fr. George Ponodath. Previously known as the Film Club, the Academy has been functioning as one of the most active societies in St. Xavier’s College, Kolkata. The students of the Mass Communication and Videography Department are de facto members of the society, including the members of the Film Studies Department. The society is currently headed by Prof. Ananya Chakrabarti (Assistant President, XFA) and Prof. Utsav Chatterjee (Vice President, XFA). Since, it’s initiation seven years ago the Xaverian Film Academy has actively hosted workshops, interactive sessions, film screenings and its much anticipated annual fest Cinematheque, which has grown into one of the most awaited student film festivals in the city.


Since its establishment in the year 2009, the Xaverian Film Academy has religiously organized its annual fest Cinematheque every year. Over the years Cinematheque has grown into one of the most awaited competitions in the student film competition circuit in not only the city of Kolkata but on the national stage as well. From its inaugural edition, the festival has been host to a wide array of competitive categories that include short fiction filmmaking, documentary filmmaking, music videos, ad films, photography contests, film reviews, etc. The festival has also witnessed the presence and participation of a number of celebrated and renowned artists of the industry including the likes of directors Mahesh Bhatt, Navdeep Singh, Indranil Roy Chowdhury and Kamaleshwar Mukherjee. Filmmaker Anurag Basu was a member of the national jury in the 2013 edition of the festival.