St. Xavier's College (Autonomous), 30 Mother Teresa Sarani Kolkata 700016 West Bengal, India

Students Section Staff Section

Xavier's Centre for Gender Studies


To promote gender parity and intends to poise itself as an academic interface for research, training and practice through the prism of gender.


  • To create committed communities that address the challenges faced in the areas of gender, sexuality, diversity and equity.
    To focus on the formulation of policies aimed at establishing a just and secular society in India.
  • To develop gender studies as a discipline with a core area of theory in an inter-disciplinary framework, specially focusing on women, dalit, tribal and minority religious communities.
  • To bring gender from the margins to the core issues along with constant transformation and expansion growing with the active involvement of faculty, staff, and students who are committed to the shaping of thought in gender and sexuality.

The Proposed Approach

The primary role of the Centre can be defined as knowledge assimilation and transmission through teaching, research and documentation.

Teaching and Training

  • Designing modules assigning appropriate credits.
  • Introducing a Certificate Course of 6 weeks duration.
  • Incorporating field practice component.
  • Developing reading materials.
  • Introducing gender studies as an optional paper for the International. Exchange programme students.


  • Hosting both minor and major research projects from various funding agencies.
  • Organizing seminars, workshops and colloquia for better understanding and sharing various conceptual issues in gender studies.
  • Organizing periodic orientation programmes to develop courses, research and related activities.

Documentation and Publication

  • Reports of conferences, seminars and workshops.
  • Thematic compilation of completed research projects hosted by Centre and publication of working papers.
  • Publication of an annual journal on gender studies.
  • Publication of a bi-annual magazine on the activities of the Centre.

Committee Members:

  • Prof. Saswati Chaudhuri (Convenor)
  • Prof. Asish Mitra
  • Prof. Jhumpa Mukherjee
  • Prof. Charlotte Simpson Veigas
  • Prof. Rilina Basu
  • Prof. Samrat Roy
  • Prof. Zayed Al Baset
  • Prof. Soma Nath
  • Ms. Cheryl Francis
  • Prof. Sumona Guha
  • Prof. Koushik Chatterjee